Missing the Fog

I was an avid and anonymous blog reader before I decided to create BCLG. I can recall reading countless posts of people apologising to their readers for never posting.  And I remember thinking, it can’t be that hard to post on a blog. Every day is a bit much but once or twice a week, I could do that.  `well it turns out, it is difficult and I can’t do it.  Because life happens.  Some days you don’t have enough time to cook a real dinner or speak to your partner on more than email.  So for now I will continue to be an avid blog reader, although slightly less anonymous and post on my own blog when I find the time.  And I’ll continue to wonder how those who do manage to post so often, keep up with their friends, make amazing meals, host dinner parties, run their own business, stay in shape and sew/knit/crochet, have all those hours in their day.

I read a comment from an old friend from my home town about how they were driving through fog and it reminded them of home.  And I knew exactly what they were talking about.  The drive on 33 out of Ojai as you head to Ventura, in fog so think you can hardly see. The valley filled with fog as you come down the grade.  The June gloom.  Dressing up like it is winter because it is foggy.  Waiting for the fog to burn off so you could go to the beach or see the view from the top of your hike.  Strange, I never thought I would miss fog.  Maybe it’s not the fog that I was missing this morning, but my beautiful home town.   I love living in London (well just outside London now), I love our home and our friends and my life here.  But every now and again the a little comment or thought makes me take a deep breath and think, I miss the fog.

About Chryssi

Part time runner, crafter, reader, and day dreamer and full time city worker. I live in London with my wonderful husband and love it but miss the beach and mountains of California. I enjoy cooking and wish I was a better baker. I don't like regrets or New Year resolutions.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

