Table Sunshine

Sunday morning I arrived in Cape Town for a work conference. While I have had long days and late nights, I have also had amazing weather, wonderful food and beautiful runs along the ocean. Cape Town reminds me a little of a California beach town. And being here reminds me what a great job I have.  So when I am back in London, stuck at my desk and freezing cold I will remember these 5 days and remind myself that this job allows to do some pretty amazing things.

Business lunch.  I have a hard job....

Business lunch. I have a hard job….

I had a free day on Thursday and I had to check out of my hotel.  So I took a guided tour of the Cape Peninsula with African Eagle. I was the last one to be picked up and got to sit in the passenger seat of the van.  I know all the cool kids sit in the back, but it’s not so cool sitting in the back if you get car sick.  Plus, the views are always so much better when you sit in the front!

Camps Bay outside of Cape Town beneath the Twelve Apostles

Camps Bay outside of Cape Town beneath the Twelve Apostles

It took about 3 hours including breathtaking stops along Chapman’s Peak Drive to get to  Cape Peninsula National Park. We went on a short seal watching boat trip in Hout Bay.  It was nice to be out on the water.

The Cape Peninsula National Park is home to Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope.  I grew up learning about Dias and da Gama sailing around the Cape of Good Hope in their tall ships.

The Cape of Good Hope is often mistaken for the southern most point in Africa.

The Cape of Good Hope is often mistaken for the southern most point in Africa.

We were given 45 minutes after lunch to explore Cape Point.  I joined the German couple who were a part of our tour and power hiked as close to the point as you are allowed to go!  They were the friendliest people on our tour and it turns out they were fellow runners who had lived in DC in the 80’s.

I’m not wearing zinc. I think I have dropped our little camera one too many times and now half my pictures have pink highlights.

After being in the sun for so long, I was happy to get back in to the van for the drive to the  penguin colony at Boulders in Simons Town.  They are now called African Penguins, which is more tourist friendly than the local name of Jackass Penguins because they sound like donkeys.  There were hundreds of them sitting on their nests and sunning themselves.

DSC01140

We finished the day wandering around Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden.  Kirstenbosch was stunning and I wish I had more time there.  Our guide took us to his favorite place in the gardens up a darkened path along a natural spring.

Colonel Bird's Bath

Colonel Bird’s Bath

We finished up a herb garden where you were encouraged to touch and smell everything in the garden so that you could experience all the smells – good and bad.  Luckily, our guide pointed out the nicest ones.

I left Cape Town and the glorious sun  and landed the following day back home where the high was 2. Five stunning days.

About Chryssi

Part time runner, crafter, reader, and day dreamer and full time city worker. I live in London with my wonderful husband and love it but miss the beach and mountains of California. I enjoy cooking and wish I was a better baker. I don't like regrets or New Year resolutions.
This entry was posted in Running, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

