Crossing the Pond

My parents now both own passports! I can’t explain how happy this makes me! It means that we will be able to have them out here once a year instead of always trying to fit a trip to Seattle to visit them each year.  The travel can now be shared.  I haven’t lived in the US for over 8 years and until last year, every time I wanted to see my parents, it meant I had to be the one on a plane.  But it also meant that they had never been a part of my world here.  They only knew it from photos and Skype tours.  I can’t wait for them to see our house (and help with the painting, and rebuilding the deck….)

My mom made the passport leap last year and came out to visit in April.  We had a lovely time and tried to avoid the sights that my dad will defiantly want to see.

Hanging out at Bodiam Castle

Hanging out at Bodiam Castle

 

At Mompesson House.  We ate lots of cakes at National Trust properties.

At Mompesson House. We had lots of tea and cakes at National Trust properties.

They will be here for two weeks in the summer and I am already crossing my fingers and toes that we have good weather.

Looking at my blog I need a new camera.  Both on my phone and otherwise.  My phone camera is blurry and my little handheld colors things in bright pink.  So I will have to do my research and find a new camera.  And this just might be the motivation to get an iPhone.  I only just entered the smart phone world 4 months ago when David upgraded and I took his hand-me-down HTC.  Unfortunately neither will  happen any time soon as our living room still isn’t fully furnished.

Running went will last week and I managed to exceed my Jantastic goal. I did just over 7 miles on Sunday.  It was bright and sunny.  A stunning day to run and I even got to wear my new sunglasses with the dark lenses in them.  And my hips have been feeling great.  I have been rolling and stretching and using the Nike Training App on top of Beautcamp once a week.

About Chryssi

Part time runner, crafter, reader, and day dreamer and full time city worker. I live in London with my wonderful husband and love it but miss the beach and mountains of California. I enjoy cooking and wish I was a better baker. I don't like regrets or New Year resolutions.
This entry was posted in Family, Home, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

