Hello New Shoes

I meant to buy some new shoes on Tuesday before I went to see Chris Finill speak about his Run Across America at Run and Become. But I got out of work late and didn’t have enough time before the talk to actually buy the shoes. With Friday off I thought I’d head back in to the city for a little shopping.

Supernova Sequence 4

Supernova Sequence 4

As always, excellent service and advice from Run and Become.  I passed on  the newest version since these were about half the price and slightly less ugly. And now that I have put them on Strava, I will be able to truly track the miles I have done in them instead of guessing when I hit 300 miles.  When I was younger, I always thought my new shoes would make me faster.  I hope that these ones will work the same.

I did almost 8 miles on Friday morning, pre shoe shopping.  It’s the longest I have done in ages and it felt great.  I can feel myself getting faster on both my long and short runs and the few extra miles are getting easier.  I am trying to work out my A and B goals for both the Sidcup 10 and the Paddock Wood Half Marathon.  They are a month apart and I haven’t really got beyond April with what else I am going to do.

I woke up early on Saturday and considered running parkrun but I couldn’t find my barcode.  So I postponed my run till late morning and tried to bake my mother in law a birthday cake. It wasn’t a total disaster but it wasn’t great.  A little too dense and I managed to dye my frosting Halloween orange. I’ve convinced myself that a KitchenAid might be the answer to some of my baking flops.

IMAG0167

Needs a little less food coloring and a lot more buttercream frosting.

I did have so excellent help…

IMAG0166

Saturday afternoon we had a late lunch at The River Cafe.  Simply stunning food and location.  I failed to take any photos but maybe I can use that as an excuse to go back. My mother in law was still raving about how great her birthday lunch was this morning.

Jantastic is working wonders.  I would have found an excuse not to run this weekend because we had friends and family around.  I needed to run both days to get to my four runs.  Funny, you can find time if you try.  Two great runs this weekend that I would have missed otherwise.  My new shows must be working….

About Chryssi

Part time runner, crafter, reader, and day dreamer and full time city worker. I live in London with my wonderful husband and love it but miss the beach and mountains of California. I enjoy cooking and wish I was a better baker. I don't like regrets or New Year resolutions.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

